1957 johnson 7.5 hp AD-11 fire on one cylinder

JimVmd

Cadet
Newbie here, find good info, but need help. I'm no electronic engineer, and my VOM meter is foreign and not utilized much.

Anyways, got spark in lower, not upper.

So, I do the coil checks, and though it has two differing aftermarket, both appear in good shape. Primary checks, and I get some resistance on both secondary, I think. I hit ground on the coil, and end of each spark plug boot. running meter at 20K ohm, shows something like 4.3 display on one coil (a black one) and 3.6 on the green one (like sierra coil). The green one is on the upper bad. No spark using tester on upper, so it is not a case of bad plug.

OK experts, tell me what to do. Am I hitting the right points on the probe to test secondary coil? Do I have a simple spark plug wire short? Are the reading telling me something I don't understand?

In a "go-figure" state, gotta be an easy solution, just don't care to be in a replace all stuff position, but I can I guess. Points look good, gapped, condensers are just that, conns are tight.

Coil suspect I think.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1957 johnson 7.5 hp AD-11 fire on one cylinder

Clean the points and reset. Run wet/dry through them many times. DIp paper stock in acetone and run that through to clean. Set to 020

cajuncook1

Chief Petty Officer

Your going to need to inspect your point, condenser and coils. They are located under the flywheel. Hopefully all you need to do is clean and regap your points and you might be in business. Still check your coils and condensers and plug wires.

Here is how to pop your flywheel off and it gives you information about re-torquing you flywheel nut.

How to Change Coils and set points on old OMC's?/ 294072

Here are two link to show you how to test your coils and condensers.

How to test a coil in an antique outboard engine - YouTube

Antique Outboards and all about condensers - YouTube