'81 Evinrude Eats Starter Solenids

slick75

Cadet
The title pretty much sums it up, now Im looking for reasons why.

Heres the story, last summer I finally got tired of the wrap and pull starting on my 35 hp that I had been doing for several years. Its strictly electric start so the cowling and retractable pull cord was never installed. So I broke down and replaced the starter solenoid for the third time. The first two times had similar results, put a solenoid on it and use the boat 3 or 4 times and replace the solenoid.

This is the third time, probably didnt use the boat 4 times last summer after replacing the solenoid so I dont see where its 'wearing out'. It jut seems to break. The last one actually cracked that plastic housing on the solenoid. This time I really cant see any damage to the housing, though the gray cover plate SEEMS to be bulging out slightly and a piece of rubber seal is visible.

When I used the boat Saturday it worked great on the first attempt to start the motor. Motor caught briefly and ran for a few seconds while charging the fuel line then died (nothing new there). When I attempted to start the motor again the solenoid kind of chattered then nothing. Back to the old wrap and pull.

I have tested everything I can think of to test. Checked the solenoid hooked up as normal (jumping leads). Main power is good up to the solenoid, nothing across the control posts. Starter switch wiring is good up to the solenoid. Pulled the solenoid off and hooked it up to a different battery. All results the same, the solenoid doesnt close.

Right now the short answer is to replace the solenoid but Im more concerned with why I cant use one more than a handful of times before it breaks again. Any ideas what would cause it would be greatly appreciated.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: '81 Evinrude Eats Starter Solenids