1978 johnson 25E78C wiring help!!! Please!!

fragglewhat

Recruit
Ok so this is the issue I am having. My neighbor has a Johnson 25E78C motor, we are trying to connect the wiring to the ignition switch and we are having some issues. The motor did not come with an ignition switch so my buddy bought one from the local boat dealer, it is a Mercury switch, Quicksilver 87-88107A 5. It has 6 wires coming out of it. Yellow/Red stripe, Yellow/Black stripe, Black/Yellow stripe, Red, Black(with two black wires coming out of it), and a purple wire. My question is can I use this ignition switch to start the Johnson Motor? I have a good sense of mechanical know how as I am a Mechanical Engineer. I just don't know how to wire this up. What wires do I need to use and where on the motor will they go. Any help or advice will be greatly appreciated. He also stated that the motor is not electric choke. It is a remote motor. Thanks again in advance for any help.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1978 johnson 25E78C wiring help!!! Please!!

What are the terminals marked on the back of the ignition switch? They should be.. B, M, M, A, C, S (yes, two M's). And if so...........

M - Normally a raised boss terminal = Powerpack kill circuit (Black/Yellow)
M - Normally a regular flat terminal = Powerhead ground (A single black wire)
A - Accessory terminal = Normally a "purple" wire. Anything you want 12v going to only when the key is in the ON or START position.
C - Choke terminal = Normally a "Purple/white" wire.
S - Starter solenoid = Normally a "white" wire.
B - Battery voltage terminal = Normally a "red" wire.

Your color code above is not listed in any of my manuals so you'll need to trace them out. Being a mechanical engineer, that should present no problem. Good luck.

The color coded wires that you speak of..... Are they leading "from" the engine in a wiring harness?

Last edited:

fragglewhat

Recruit