Evinrude fastwin help

Mr chainsaw

Cadet
Well howdy, this is my first post, so bear with me.
I'm 15 and I just got an evinrude fastwin. It is a 15 hp motor. I've been having problems getting it started and running, the low speed valve is not getting fuel. I have no idea how to fix this as I'm new to boat motors. I did everything short of boiling the carburetor. The motor has good spark and when I pour fuel done the carb it starts up(until it runs out). Any help would be greatly appreciated.
P.s- I have a sportwin as well, are any of the parts interchangeable?

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: Evinrude fastwin help

Sounds like a carb rebuild is in order.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

What is your starting procedure? There is a silver button on the pressure tank (are you still running the pressure tank or have you converted to fuel pump?), when you pump that 4 or 5 times does it get firm as the fuel bowl on the carb fills? Can you hear the fuel filling the carb bowl? If you are sure fuel is getting to the bowl, but not pulled through the motor, pull off the carb and clean/rebuild as needed.

If that motor has original coils, they will definitely be NFG regardless if you are getting spark or not. Have you inspected the ignition yet?

What is the compression?

Mr chainsaw

Cadet

Well, I use the fuel tank that came with the motor and it has a little plunger that pressurized the line. I get really strong blue spark. NFG? Compression ill test tomorrow. I know fuel is in the bowl it just does not get to the motor. I noticed that the little hole below the low speed on the left side is not plugged like it is on the sportwin. I've just rebuilt a 1923 Johnson 1.5 HP and I currently use a 1945 evinrude 10hp. I was wrong when I said this was new to me.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral

this is an early to mid-50s 15? with a pressurized fuel tank (two lines)?

Mr chainsaw

Cadet