Johnson 140 Water pump

Dirtfloor

Cadet
Hi Guys, I'm trying to replace the impeller on my Johnson 140. I've done this before on different motors, so I'm not a complete novice. It seems the drive shaft is stuck in the power head and try as I might it won't budge. I've gone over it a dozen time to make sure I haven't left any bolts or screws in. Any ideas, anybody??? Cheers

Bosunsmate

Admiral
Re: Johnson 140 Water pump

shift shaft bolt out?
is it a saltwater used motor?

Dirtfloor

Cadet

Yes, the shift shaft bolt is out. And yes used in salt water. Also while trying to shake it loose I found sand coming out of the leg?!!!

Bosunsmate

Admiral

I find shells in them sometimes too.
Have you got any movement from the gearbox?
I was thinking that if you removed the prop and undid the pinon gear the driveshaft would stay behind while the gearbox dropped out.... Anyone tried that?

boobie

Supreme Mariner

That's pretty much impossible. Think about what holds the drive shaft into the lower unit. Have you got the bolt out underneath the trim tab ??

Last edited:

Bosunsmate

Admiral

That's pretty much impossible. Think about what holds the drive shaft into the lower unit.

Its sunday here but im thinking just the pinon gear on the bottom, everything else should just slide through the impeller housing, id of thought?

racerone

Supreme Mariner

Agreed , taking the nut off the bottom of the driveshaft still does not allow the driveshaft to come out of the lower unit !---The thrust bearing surface is very big and will not allow this to come apart !--I use an adapter on the crank and a pulling adapter on the skeg to get these apart.

Last edited:

Bosunsmate

Admiral

Agreed , taking the nut off the bottom of the driveshaft still does not allow the driveshaft to come out of the lower unit !---The thrust bearing surface is very big and will not allow this to come apart !--I use an adapter on the crank and a pulling adapter on the skeg to get these apart.