1983 evinrude 25 hp

Rich305

Seaman Apprentice
Hello there I am new to iboats and I am seeking some answers lol well I have a 25 hp evinrude when I first got it the motor did not run I re did the water pump impeller. Changed the lower unit oil and had a buddy redo the carb when I got the motor back from him it ran like a champ. After letting the motor sit for a few months I mixed the gas and oil and went to give it a try. The motor started on the third try but it runs funny now.. It sounds fine but every other 30 seconds it throws like some type of combustion or it sounds like it sneezes and it throws water out the exhaust in a burst and ideas on what it could be? Thanks in advance

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1983 evinrude 25 hp

Is the low speed needle on the carb adjusted correctly ??

Rich305

Seaman Apprentice

Well I didn't mess with it since he gave it back to me so I pretty sure it's set right

bonzoscott

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Welcome to iboats! If it ran perfectly before, conditions may have changed and as boobie said try the low speed adjustment. Do it in 1/4 turn increments giving about ten seconds for the motor to adjust. If it does it only every 30 seconds I wonder if it was good and warm. It's alot colder out now (unless you're south). Is this on a boat or in a barrel? You may also check the spark plug condition.

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member

I would suspect you got some crud from the fuel tank into the carb. It is one of those things that happens and why people install some aftermarket filters.

The carb might have to come apart again.

Rich305

Seaman Apprentice