90's Evinrude 50HP VRO not shifting

MPI_Mallard

Cadet
First off please bear with me I'm new to powerboating so if I sound like I don't know what I'm talking about it's because I don't. I bought a used pontoon boat with a 90's Evinrude 50HP VRO and it's been running like a swiss watch until yesterday, as I was going back to the dock going from forward to reverse then forward I lost the ability to shift into either, before that on a previous trip I could hear a faint tone coming from the shifter that got louder as I increased the speed and got quieter when I decreased the speed, the previous owner told me he had disconnected the auto-oiler and the alarm ment nothing. The engine is wizzing water and running right but when I shift I don't feel that "ker-plunk" that it had and the prop won't turn, I'm pulling it out today so what might I look for?

oldcatamount

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 90's Evinrude 50HP VRO not shifting

I'd look for a broken or disconnected shift cable either in the controller or on the motor. If the shifter just stopped working with no symptoms, I doubt there's a gear problem but you should check the gear oil anyway. If the previous owner disconnected the VRO, did he remove the oil tank from the boat? If so, the tone you are hearing could be the heat sensor. Do you hear a short beep when turning the key on?

MPI_Mallard

Cadet