1981 johnson 35 kicks out of gear

First off this is my first post on this website although I've been creeping on here for a few months now. Great site with a lot of great information. I've already learned a lot! Heres my question, I bought a 1981 Johnson 35 shortshaft tiller earlier this year. The guy I bought it off of makes his living as an at home boat mechanic. I found the add on craigslist, went up and checked it out. He had it in a test tank, fired right up, idled smooth as butter, revved clean, shifted back and forth smooth and clean and revved great while in forward and reverse. I bought it, bring it home, put it on my boat and head straight to the lake. Put it in the water, started right up, put it in forward and putted my way to the no wake bouy, rolled on the throttle and when it got under load, bang, came out of gear. It did not jump back into gear, just kicked out and stayed out. So i tried it again, same thing. One last test, i held the lever into gear. Remember this is a tiller steer so Im shifting with the lever on the side of the motor. While holding the lever forward into forward gear I start rolling on the throttle, the lever starts pushing against my hand and I cant hold it anymore, it jumps out of gear. So I take it back, he puts different ( not new) gears in it, I pick it up, take it to the lake, same exact thing. I take it back, He puts new forward and clutch dog in, I go pick it up, same exact thing. He showed me receipt and boxes for the new parts. I took it back up to him yesterday. He thinks he knows the problem now. The shaft that the shift lever hooks to and runs inside the case has some slop in it. Im assuming that the hole is wallered out and the shaft is worn.