Need help with 1977 Johnson 25HP.

reaper2332

Cadet
I recently purchased a 1977 Johnson 25HP motor. I can spin the prop by hand when its in forward, neutral, and reverse. I thought it was either a spun hub or a broken shear pin. I replaced the prop and the shear pin isnt broken. If it helps when I spin the flywheel in neutral the prop spins as well. Can somebody please give me some ideas on what this issue could be? Also I am a complete newb when it comes to boat motors, but I do have some experience with regular car motors.

Thanks,
Jason

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: Need help with 1977 Johnson 25HP.

Did this engine function okay prior to this problem... or is this engine new to you and this problem has existed from day one?

From what you've described, it sounds like either the shift linkage isn't hooked up to the lower unit properly, OR the driveshaft has sheared at some point.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Usually if the motor is off you may have to rotate the prop to get it in gear.In gear the prop will rotate about 1/3 of a turn.
Its normal for the prop to move some even in neutral as the flywheel turns.
The forward and revers gears are free on the prop shaft always driven be the driveshaft The clutch dog is splined to the prop shaft
and slides to select forward or reverse. The shift rod has a connector in the leg behind a little window.it may
be assembled wrong. Check at the shift lever to see if the upper rod moves as you shift.
If the connector seems ok then any number of things could be wrong in the gear case.

reaper2332

Cadet

Did this engine function okay prior to this problem... or is this engine new to you and this problem has existed from day one?

From what you've described, it sounds like either the shift linkage isn't hooked up to the lower unit properly, OR the driveshaft has sheared at some point.