Motor height for a 1988 Ranger 375v with a jackplate

keefallan

Petty Officer 1st Class
I have this boat that I restored. It has a 6" plate installed 2. What is the correct height(approx) for this boat with a plate? It has a stepback too. I haven't messed with the setup that came with it. I think its a little low. The boat started chine walking full out with the motor trimmed way out. I was running a 27 renegade bass. It also has no tail whatsoever. I would figure iut should have made some sort of roostertail(3-4 tall). I was running 60 plus. I am new to setup for a bass boat. My other bass boat that I had(16' cajun) had no plate nor a stepback or a motor this big either. What should water pressure be at speed too? I did install a pressure guage on it. I am already aware of making sure that the motor keeps getting water thru the intake screens. I have the newer style intakes on my evinrude(2"squares) not the old 4 holes style.

dan02gt

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Motor height for a 1988 Ranger 375v with a jackplate

Set the center of your prop shaft 3.5" below the pad. Test it and make adjustments from there. If you lose lift or water pressure and have a massive rooster tail lower it a 1/4" and re-test. If not raise it 1/4" and see if your top speed improves.

I'm not sure what the water pressure on a Johnson/Evinrude should be, I'm a Mercury man.

keefallan

Petty Officer 1st Class

Thanks. I'll check the height now and see what I have to do from there.

keefallan

Petty Officer 1st Class

Anyone know what h2o pressure is for Evinrude crossflows?

boobie

Supreme Mariner

I would guess about 15 to20 psi at wot.

keefallan

Petty Officer 1st Class