1984 evinrude 35 still wont start

EZSteury

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Since last thread I went back to the motor and removed almost every wire that looked old or fried, I removed the carburetor and cleaned it (it was clean anyways) then I set the low idle needle back to 1 3/4 turn cranked the engine with both spark plugs out and they have plenty of spark, also pulled the flywheel and cleaned the metal on the stator since they were dirty. When I put the spark plugs back in I prime the fuel then crank the engine and it wont start, tried several times and nothing. I pulled the spark plugs and they are wet with fuel, what am I missing here? I got the boat ready and I can't take it in the water bc of this issue, I'm a beginner on this 2 stroke outboards but I have gotten other old motors running I just can't figure this thing out, is it timing? A buddy told Me I can't time this motor. I will appreciate any advice in this matter.

Here are some pics of what I'm working on.
evinrude3.jpgevinrude.jpgevinrude2.jpg

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1984 evinrude 35 still wont start

Checking the spark with the plugs means nothing. The spark should jump a 7/16" open air gap on a spark tester. I got burned on that years ago.

EZSteury

Petty Officer 3rd Class

It did jump far but I don't have a spark tester, I could buy one of those and see how far is does jump.

phillnjack2

Ensign

just make a spark tester !!!
its dead easy to make one if you have about 5 minutes to spare.

simply get a couple of bits of wood and screw them together and leave a 1 inch gap between them at the top.
put 1 crew in 1 side and 1 screw in the other, screw both in so there is a gap between them of 7/16 of an inch .
attach a wire to each of the screws, put 1 wire to the earth of the engine and 1 wire to the spark plug lead where the cap goes onto plug.
crank engine and watch if the spark jumps the gap (if it don't you wont see a spark at all so easy to tell if it does jump it.