'68 Johnson 65 hp won't start without fuel mixture sprayed into carbs?

KJacobsen64

Cadet
Hello I am new at boat ownership and my wife and I bought a used 1964 StarCraft 18' boat to play on the lake and so I can do some fishing. It is late in the season but I tried to put the boat in the water a couple weeks ago and the motor would crank but not fire. I brought it home and put the motor in a makeshift tank and attached ear muffs to be safe. I tried different settings for the throttle and thought I may have flooded the engine.. I took out the spark plugs and 3 of 4 were dry and one was a little wet but not soaked? Next I took some fuel from the fuel tank and dripped it into the carbs and it stubble fired then quit, I added more and it fired up but won't idle? I moved the throttle forward a touch more and had to prime the carbs again and it fired up and seemed to run okay but really rough idle?? I am concerned that if I back off the throttle after running it at high speed if it will stall and then not fire again? Is there something I should try to be sure that the throttle doesn't drop to low to keep the motor running or do I need to clean out and possible carb rebuild?

jbjennings

Captain
Re: '68 Johnson 65 hp won't start without fuel mixture sprayed into carbs?

Here's what I would do:
CHeck compression--borrow a gauge
Check spark---$6 at o'reilly's
If spark will jump at least a 1/4" gap with a hot blue spark, then:
Rebuild all carbs. YOur description sounds like the low speed jets are stopped up. I can't remember if the '68 65hp has low speed adjusters on it, but I think it does. YOu may even try opening up the low speed adjusters because they're not set right. There's a procedure in the "top secret file" at the top of this forum for that. Personally, I'd rebuild all those carbs because since the motor is new to you and not running properly, you already know that it hasn't been used in a while. I'd also change the water pump impeller and fuel lines if not new.