1973 Evinrude 85393M 85hp Outboard Leaking water in gearcase?

robfye30

Recruit
Good day all!
First of all, let me say I am a NOOB at boating. After giving the motor a good once over (carb rebuild, replacing all fuel and vacuum lines, and a few odds and ends here and there) I finally got this boat running. After MANY trips back and forth to the lake, I finally get the thing dialed in where I think it should be. Last weekend I took it out on the river to do some catfishing. When we went out it was late at night so i took it really slow. Therefore I couldn't notice anything wrong. Once morning hit and we were about to change spots, I get it up on the river and it keeps revving out like the prop comes out of the water. it will run fine at about 1800 rpm's but anything past that and it feels like it slips into neutral. NO bangs, pops, or grinding at all. power it back down to about 1800, and it does ok. So I park it. I took the plug out of the top to see if the gearcase was full...nothing. I took the drain plug out to see the condition of the oil...VERY black. BUT!! Before the oil came out, about a cup of water ran out first. Then about MAYBE a cup of oil came out. So I have a leak somewhere. I noticed a small trail on the propeller. Maybe a shaft seal? Weird. I thought if there was water in it, that it would be milky. NO shaving on the drain magnet either. Would it be ok if I were to fill it back up with gear oil and give her another go? Or is this something I need to worry about? Hopefully this is in the right section. I have searched with no luck pertaining to MY problem. Thanks to any and all who respond.

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: 1973 Evinrude 85393M 85hp Outboard Leaking water in gearcase?

Welcome to the forum.
There are several places where water can get into the lower unit, but it might be something as simple as the gaskets on the drain/vent screws. I would install new gaskets on the screws and fill the lower unit and check it after you run it a bit.