1954 johnson cd-10 5.5 hp compression

Ray2

Cadet
hi, just got this cd-10 5.5 and it has been sitting for over two years or more,so i cleaned tank out real good and put new 16-1 gas in put in barrel started but would not stay running, very erratic would not , it has blue spark and pumps water ,so i thought before i got a carb kit for it i would check the compression on it first,so i rent one and screw in until snug,leaving the other plug in and pull rope 10 times and it shows 30 psi.then try the other piston and 10 pulls and it says 30 psi i have never done a compression check before and wondering if i 'm doing something wrong, i thought it should be at 80 to90 psi, then i seen somebody said as long as both had equal psi probably would be ok.any thoughts? thanks..

nwcove

Admiral
Re: 1954 johnson cd-10 5.5 hp compression

not very good numbers......try doing the test with both plugs out and pull it over as fast as you can without breaking the cord. the fact that its even is good, so dont give up hope, as many comp testers will give you drastically different numbers. 60 psi would be acceptable.

edit: welcome to iboats!!!!

Ray2

Cadet

not very good numbers......try doing the test with both plugs out and pull it over as fast as you can without breaking the cord. the fact that its even is good, so dont give up hope, as many comp testers will give you drastically different numbers. 60 psi would be acceptable.

edit: welcome to iboats!!!!
thanx for the quick
response, took both plugs out and pulled, still 30 psi,its a oem gauge set,should i try another gauge set before buying a carb kit,it was running 3 or 4 times for about 30 seconds,i'd hate to put more money in it if theres something bad wrong with it and my skill level is low, never worked on one before...

Daviet

Fleet Admiral