1972 Evinrude Triumph Shifting Issues

SnickerBocker

Recruit
To begin, I have no experience with anything that has to do with boating, so forgive me if I don't understand boating lingo. I have experience and knowledge about what makes engines run, how they work, and stuff like that, so I'm not completely hopeless. And finally I'm not afraid to ask questions.

The engine in question: 1972 Evinrude Triumph, 65 Horsepower 3cyl. Model: 65273S Selectric Hydro-Electric Shift

The story: My grandfather bought a boat, I don't know the year but it's a Larson, anyway he got the boat, and it had no engine, so he found the 72' Triumph and I'm not sure who installed it, I assume he did as he is knowledgeable about boats. He has had it for a number of years but as time passed he used it less and less until about 3 - 5 years ago it quit shifting and would only go forwards. So just this year, a month ago really, he was looking to get rid of the boat, and I was looking to buy one, so obviously a deal was made.

What I Have Learned: The basic engine info, such as the power, year, and that it is a Hydro-Electric Shift, and how that works. Apparently there are 2 Solenoids, one with a blue wire and one with a green, when just one is activated it is in neutral, when both are activated it will go to reverse, and I understand the engine needs to be turning for the oil pressure to move the dogs.