1976 evinrude 135 hp

curtis1979

Seaman Apprentice
Hello this is my first time and I am in no way a boat mechanic. I have a 135 hp evinrude year 1976. I bought this motor from a friend. My compression is 125 125 123 and 127 on 4 cylinders. My problem is a rough idle and when I go half speed its fine. When I tromp it down it will die unless I hit the choke then it will move on. The spark is good also. The carbs were cleaned a couple weeks ago. The primer bulb just never feels full like my other boat.
I would appreciate any suggestions. Thanks

Last edited:

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1976 evinrude 135 hp

Welcome to iboats

Dirty carbs and/or misadjusted float levels, probably low. Fixed hi and low speed jetting makes for no adjustments. Carbs not tight to manifols and a bad gasket in this area can cause this as well

Last edited:

curtis1979

Seaman Apprentice

That was a quick reply. I will check to see if it is tight. Do I need to clean hi lo jets?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner

You need to pull all the jets out of the carb to clean and visually inspect them for any restriction. The fuel primer bulb will get hard when you pump it up the first thing each day. Once the engine starts to draw fuel through the line, the bulb will get softer, but should not collapse on itself. That's normal. A rough idle could be due to dried fuel gelatin restricting the small idle passages inside the carbs. You can't get that out unless you have a fuel cleaner product like a Gumout type product. Are you working from a factory service manual?

Last edited:

curtis1979

Seaman Apprentice