Johnson 2 hp Recoil Spring

JGMcKeel

Cadet
I was just given a 1983 Johnson 2 hp outboard to use with my dinghy. The previous owner broke the cord and the screw through the cowling is missing (On order). The spring looks to be in good shape but I have a very novice question. When the new screw arrives, should it go through the eye of the spring or is there another pin that holds it in place?

BTW, most boys had a chance to take apart lawnmower engines and such but I've had to wait for retirement to play -- and I'm having a ball learning. This is my first project outboard so any suggestions will certainly be welcome! I have the books "Cheap Outboards" and the Seloc manual. Any other suggested reading for a novice?

Cheers,
John McKeel
S/V Santa Teresa
San Diego

JGMcKeel

Cadet
Re: Johnson 2 hp Recoil Spring

Thanks for the diagram but I can't find any pin to hook the spring onto. Perhaps these pictures will help:

photo.JPG

photo copy.JPG

I can see the hook on the end of the spring inside the coil but I don't see any peg or place for a pin on the housing. Should there be one?

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

The parts breakdown shows #1 pully and pin assembley, does it look like the pin might be broken off?

JGMcKeel

Cadet

Hmmm. I really appreciate your help. Would the pin be on the cover (where the recoil spring is located in my photographs) or on the pulley (as in the photographs below with the pulley sitting on the flywheel)?

photo-2.JPG

Thanks in Advance,
John the Newby

Daviet

Fleet Admiral

Parts breakdown says pully and pin assembley, I would look at the pully for a broken pin.

JGMcKeel

Cadet