1977 75 hp Stinger Johnson Water in Cylinder

edquade

Seaman Apprentice
Hi Everybody,

I'm new to the forum here, but I've tried researching the best I could without asking questions, and this forum has been great so far!
I do however, have a problem I can't seem to figure out myself. I am getting water in the bottom cylinder on my 75 hp Stinger, while the motor is down in the position it would be in the lake. I assumed that would mean the head gasket is leaking, I pulled the head off and that did not appear to be the case and I put a new head gasket in. Immediately after starting the engine on the muffs, I had a significant amount of water back into the bottom cylinder. I don't think a head gasket would have been able to leak that much in that quick, especially with it just being replaced. Where else could it possibly be leaking? Is there such a thing as frost plugs or something similar on these engines? I've never honestly done much work on outboards so I'm new to this.

Thanks in advance for any help you're able to offer!

Will Bark

Lieutenant
Re: 1977 75 hp Stinger Johnson Water in Cylinder

Probably the exhaust manifold on the port(left) side of the engine. You need to get the service manual for your engine if you are going to do it yourself. Post a model number from the transom bracket and the gurus will probably give you more info. Good luck

classiccat

"Captain" + Starmada Splash Of The Year 2020

Did you check compression before/after replacing the head gasket?

Unless you didn't put the head gasket on correctly (wrong torque value/order, residual gasket crud, unfilled pitting, etc.), the head shouldn't be leaking.

As Will Bark said, you very well could be getting water in through the exhaust ports...i had this problem on a '75 70hp.

edquade

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks Guys,