First time restoration, Need Advice: 1983 Johnson Sea Horse 9.9/15hp

Nathan1096

Recruit
I have two 1983 Johnson Sea Horses. One is a 9.9hp and one is a 15hp.

They have both been sitting inside a dry garage for about 3 years. Additionally, the 15hp is seized and has no hope of starting (it fell off a boat and was submerged for some time). The 9.9 still runs very rough, and is hard to start.

What I hope to do is restore the 9.9hp to full working order (including a new paint job and decals) using parts where needed with the 15.

I'm aware that I can switch the carbs on these motors to make the 9.9 a 15 but I can't tell whether this is feasible given that the 15 is siezed.

I'll post pics of the inside as we go along. I have no experience doing this so advice on what tools I'll need and how to do repairs is much appreciated!

Thanks Iboats forums!

N

Attachments

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    145.6 KB · Views: 0

jbcurt00

Staff member
Re: First time restoration, Need Advice: 1983 Johnson Sea Horse 9.9/15hp

Welcome to iboats Nathan.

Might ask a Moderator (they've got a MOD @ their user name or can be found here) Johnson OB forum. Lots of helpful folks hanging out over that way & can probably quickly answer any questions you may have...

Best of luck getting the 9.9hp up & running great again....

AlTn

Commander

obtain the OMC Factory Manual...google..Leeroys ramblings 9.9/15 hp....YouTube..Small Girl rebuilds small outboard and some other vids concerning the 9.9/15 hp. series...take your time and pics along the way

Nathan1096

Recruit

obtain the OMC Factory Manual...google..Leeroys ramblings 9.9/15 hp....YouTube..Small Girl rebuilds small outboard and some other vids concerning the 9.9/15 hp. series...take your time and pics along the way