1975 Johnson 25 hp fuel pump question

carltonwebb

Cadet
I have a new to me johnson 25 hp model 25e75b. I bought this from a guy who swore by it that has treated me well after I had another outboard die.

Anyway, this is my first post and I read through the archives but did not see anything related to what I am wondering. I am a fairly decent truck/equipment mechanic but ignorant to outboard motors. I am on vacation and the boat is in a tidal creek. I cannot get it loaded back without the motor after dragging it 300 miles. It also was a big part of my plans for the week.

Here goes. I put this on the boat and it got to where it would hardly run on saturday. I took the screen filter apart at fuel pump and found a sandy like substance in it. I realized that the liner had come out of the gray fuel line and clogged up the screen. I cleaned everything up and replaced the lines with rubber fuel injection lines and the motor ran pretty good. Then, I broke the drive/shear pin for the prop and had to wait until today to get 1 or 7 in my case.

So now, when i prime the bulb, I get a fuel spit from the back of the fuel pump at the mounting gasket to the side of the engine. Somewhere in the back part of the fuel pump anyway. I think it is bad if it does that ? and maybe it will explain why the boat will only run for about 200 feet unless u constantly give the fuel pump a squeeze. I have a clear inline fuel filter on the suction side of the bulb and I can see it run out and also the clear line from the pump to the carb seems to empty as well. It also has a tendency to stay smoky while running.

If it spits fuel in that back part of the pump, is that a busted diaprahm and if so, are the parts only available as an assembly? Any help would be appreciated. I only get 1 week a year off and it ends friday. All I want to do is cruise this creek and shrimp and spend time with my son before we have to go back to the daily grind.

Will Bark

Lieutenant