Impeller / water pump replacement Evinrude 150 Ocean Pro

BrokeLoser

Seaman
I've never done this before so I'm looking for quality advice....1997 Evinrude 150 OceanPro
I found this tutorial on youtube and it seems pretty straight forward.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDPAT4FMXiU
My questions:
Is their anything that is not well covered in the video?
Any "tricks" or precautions that would make things a little easier and less troublesome?

Also, the install instructions I got with my impeller kit recommend using "triple guard grease", "Adhesive 847" and a "gasket sealing compound".
Is it crucial that I use these specifically named products or can I use:
Lucas marine grease
Permatex Silicone Adhesive Sealant
Permatex Form A Gasket Sealant
I'm not trying to be a tight-***, I just happen to have all these products in my garage right now and I'd like to do the job ASAP.

Thanks!

8b62c460-53c1-4937-a68c-bd66771ce995_300.jpg
7160109_ptx_80050_pri_larg.jpg
7349145_ptx_80016_pri_larg.jpg

TrueNorthist

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Impeller / water pump replacement Evinrude 150 Ocean Pro

It's a pretty good video. I wouldn't use a torque wrench for undoing bolts, but that's me. And he races past the process of lowering the LU which can be a beotch. Have someone give you a hand. It's heavy and you have to "walk" it down carefully. I find it is a good time to replace the seal under the waterpump, but again that's just me.

As far as the grease etc goes the grease you have is fine but not the light duty RTV, nor the form a gasket. I use "ultra gray" sealant and adhesive 847 because I haven't found anything that works as well. I used to use nothing but ultra gray but it doesn't hold up as well as 847 in that spot. OK in a pinch. Permatex #3 is used by some.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner