1969 Evinrude 55hp Triumph ... Please help, strange electrical issue

gixxerking63

Recruit
Hello, I recently acquired a Johnson/ Evinrude 55hp Triumph with electric shift. While I am no expert at outboard motors I have rebuilt a few in my day. Unfortunately this particular outboard has me baffled.

When I first got it I noticed that all the wiring on it had been recently redone. While the wiring in the motor seemed pristine and possibly professionally done the wiring in the boat left much to be desired. Any who, I attempted to start it but I didn't even get a click from the starter solenoid.

So after some diagnosing with a voltmeter I deemed that the culprit. I ran down to the auto parts store and matched it up with an old Ford starter solenoid and wired it up. With the new solenoid I was able to actuate the starter however the gear would not remain engaged to the flywheel. Come to find out only if the starter gear was placed on the flywheel, before actuating the starter, it would remain engaged.

Anyway I attempted to check the shift solenoid with the motor off right after having tested the starter and the solenoid. I clicked the switches on the remote assembly with the motor off, then reset it to neutral and reattempted to start the motor and again got nothing. I went through and checked everything with the voltmeter again and it seems as if the brand new starter solenoid had already burnt out. Is there a faulty ground that could be the cause of this or a safety switch of some sort. I don't really quite understand how the electric shift works on these motors and in which way it may limit them. All I know is that the outboard cannot shift gears without the motor running because it works of oil pressure. Any kind of advice or guidance in some sort of direction would be much appreciated.

By the way I am a newbie on this forum so please bear with me as I learn the lay of the land. I look forward to getting to know everyone here.