1964 Johnson 9.5

zac11x

Recruit
I have just recently purchased a 1964 Johnson 9.5, it was only running on one cylinder. I have since changed the coil pack and it is running pretty good need to adjust low idle, trying to figure out how to get it to idle at a low rpm. But today i took the boat out and fished for a couple of hours and started the motor a few times to get to different spots. Well the last time i started it up i noticed that it was running a little rough, so i pulled the cover off and noticed that there was water spraying inside the engine compartment. Not really sure where it is comming from (it was a little rough on the water) it looks like its coming from under the pull cord spool or the back side of motor, i have been searching and can't find anything about it. I have seen something about a water jacket gasket but it was on a evinrude motor. I really hope someone can help me out with this as i am a novice to boat motors. Thanks in advance Zac

Rick.

Captain
Re: 1964 Johnson 9.5

I've heard the recoil mounting bolts do have passage to the water channels of the engine. You sound like you're on the right track. Perhaps try a search and you might find it. Best of luck. Rick.

kodibass

Master Chief Petty Officer

It is indeed coming from the recoil start, at the top where the start cap holds the starter spring in place there are (3) screws/bolts under the cap that these screws are holding in place there is where the gasket that is causing your leak resides. replace gasket coat good with gasket sealer and leek will be gonzo.

F_R

Supreme Mariner