'61 evinrude 18hp fastwin 15034-10961 (NO SPARK IN 1 PLUG)

Hello,
I'm new to owning a boat, last summer I bought a '58 alumacraft 15' with a '61 evinrude 18hp fastwin electric start (15034-10961). It started up and ran great all summer till the fall when the key ignigtion failed and I tried to replace. I wired the kill switch wrong somehow and burnt up the wire harness.. Now It will run but only on one cylinder, I checked for spark and only the bottom plug shows spark. I haven't bought a Manual yet hoping that I can get away with not spending that 65$. What would be my first course of action to figure out why I'm not getting spark in both plug wire?

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: '61 evinrude 18hp fastwin 15034-10961 (NO SPARK IN 1 PLUG)

Which section of wiring burned up? What did you cross in the wiring process?

I think I know what may have happened, but I would also pop the flywheel and go over the ignition system.

I think I wired the kill switch straight through with positive instead of positive to one side and neg to other. The wire harness that runs from the fuse block in the front to the main power block in the back is what melted, I think there is 4 wires in it. A previous owner added a starter push button on the bottom part of the cover leading me to believe this motor might have not came with a starter originally, also no E in the model #? I just borrowed a flywheel puller from a friend and on my way to go pull it off right now. What should I look for? Again I'm new to outboards and don't know the correct names for the parts so thanks for any help and bearing with me.

just a quick look over and the starter is definitely aftermarket because the addition starter bracket is black instead of the stock metallic blue color and the cylinoid is drilled onto the bottom cover like the addition starter button that has been spliced into the stock kill press button.

I also have a '68 18hp fastwin 18802e-15730 so if I can use any parts off of it..