1970 Evinrude 60HP Triumph ID Tag Missing

fire0501

Seaman
Hello Everyone, I'm hoping to get some help Identifying This Motor I have Pictures of it as well If needed. A Couple days ago I bought this boat 1973 Winner Marauder 17ft for a great price and I am looking to go over the engine to prep it for the summer. I wen to locate the ID Tag and it is missing. The guy told me it is a 1970 Evinrude 60HP Triumph which the motor cover confirms but it seems there are several different model numbers when I look for parts. Could someone please help me identify the different characteristics Of the different models. My Motor looks to have one coil that goes to the distributor to 3 cylinders.

This is MY first boat and while I am new to Boats I am not new to Engines, however I am unfamiliar with the older motors so any help Would be great!

IMG_20130328_081434_555_zps9e167d7a.jpg

IMG_20130328_081406_619_zpsf8c00295.jpg

fire0501

Seaman
Re: 1970 Evinrude 60HP Triumph ID Tag Missing

The old owner found the tag Its a 1971 is seems 60173C. I bought the boat under the impression it has a fuel overflow problem coming out of the exhaust when trying to start im Thinking It will prob be the carbs float valve stuck I cleaned them last night and didnt really find anything obvious. I am going to try to start it today and see what happens if It does the same thing I will start an other thread IF after searching I cant find anything

nwcove

Admiral

nice clean looking motor, have you done a compression test yet???

gm280

Supreme Mariner

On some of those older engines there is an aluminum plug on the top of the engine that looks like a freeze plug. It isn't such a thing but has the numbers on it to verify the engine year, model and such. If you do see one of those you can post that number or research it to verify exactly what you have...

fire0501

Seaman