johnson 140 hp gasket

tblshur

Senior Chief Petty Officer
hanks in advance for your responce.just decarbed j140tlcte and noticed a small stream of water comming from exhaust to cylinder head gasket i have new one, will atempt to install should i use some type of sealant and i would appreicate any questions or advice you would give as im new at this ,i need a service manual the only one that might be good ive found is pretty pricey.thank you guys for your time and advice.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
Re: johnson 140 hp gasket

The only true service manual to get is an original factory one. You can check out this website: outboardbooks.com for a new reproduction factory manual. Or try ebay. I'm confused by your description of the problem. Not sure if your exhaust covers are leaking, the cylinder heads, the powerhead base gasket or the cylinder head covers. If it's the exhaust manifold, There are two different exhaust cover/manifold gaskets. You will want to put some permatex type sealant (the caramel colored sticky sealer in a can with a swab) on the gaskets when you install them. Most new head gaskets are marked "no sealer required". I'd retorque your bolts after running the engine through a couple of heat/cool cycles.

tblshur

thank you for your quick answer. the gasket is the 323469 & 317955 exhaust gasket i will try to find some of the caramel permatex.the only torque specs i have found are 60 to 80 in lbs. all the manuals ive found cover 6 to v6 that seems like it would not be spesific enough for my j140tlcte. thank you very much & i hope you have a great spring.

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner