1972 johnson 125 outboard help!

chevykid

Recruit
Hi, i am new to boating an recently bought a 1972 runabout boat with a 50th anniversary johnson 125 outboard in it. i can get the boat started but it back fires and dies somtimes when revved up, is there a timing method with this? also i was told water is suppose to come out the weep holes in the back, when running the holes only trickle water out after about 15 minutes of running. is it suppose to take that long or should it be instantatious? also im not sure if my engine has a fuel pump because when priming the primer bulb the bulb goes almost flat and doesent prime very well.. does the engine have a fuel pump? and where would it be located?

thanks for all your help!!

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1972 johnson 125 outboard help!