Johnson ship master control box

Alanhar

Cadet
Can you help please I have a Johnson shipmaster outboard control box 2 leaver type can you mount the control box left or rignt side of the boat if I look inside of the box it looks like the cables can be feed into the box either end, does anybody know if this can be done so that I can mount the box on the port side or as a new-be to boating the left hand side of the boat, also what type cables do I need for this box my outboard is a Johnson 2 stroke 40 hp model RDSL 26s about 1968 I think hope someone can help me here please.

Last edited:

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral
Re: Johnson ship master control box

Yes, the cables can be reverse. If you do, then you must move the throttle stop bits, too...

Alanhar

Cadet

Can you help please I have a Johnson shipmaster outboard control box 2 leaver type can you mount the control box left or rignt side of the boat if I look inside of the box it looks like the cables can be feed into the box either end, does anybody know if this can be done so that I can mount the box on the port side or as a new-be to boating the left hand side of the boat, also what type cables do I need for this box my outboard is a Johnson 2 stroke 40 hp model RDSL 26s about 1968 I think hope someone can help me here please.

Thank you Admiral :)

F_R

Supreme Mariner

There were two very different Shipmaster controls back in that era. Both types can be mounted on either side of the boat. The older one has round ball knobs, "new & improved" one has shaped knobs. Cables for both are Type 400 (here at iboats), unless your control is much newer than the motor. 1979-up use Type 479.

gm280

Supreme Mariner