1989 Johnson Looper Drive Shaft Stripped

scdeerslayer

Cadet
Hi, I have a 1989 Johnson Looper 225. The drive shaft stripped the last time I was out and looking for advice. I went to the marina and a new shaft was around $600 but he wanted to sell me a new lower unit with the shaft for $350 new seals and pressure tested. My question is (I couldn't get a clear answer at the marina) if I buy a new lower unit or just the shaft shouldn't I have to replace the coupler at the engine that the shaft goes into. I'm not a mechanic but it seems to me that if the shaft stripped the coupler had to also. He was telling me I simply had to install the lower unit and be on my way but I'm thinking this will simply strip the new shaft. If anyone can help out on this it will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Chinewalker

Fleet Admiral
Re: 1989 Johnson Looper Drive Shaft Stripped

Depends on why the shaft spun out. The crankshaft splines are typically "harder" metal than the driveshaft splines, BUT the crankshaft splines are also prone to rusting if not properly serviced. If the spun splines were due to slam shifting, wake jumping, etc., then the new shaft may fix the issue. If the spun splines were due to rusted crankshaft, then they may have loosened their grip enough to allow the driveshaft splines to spin out. A new driveshaft may not last long in either case... Only way to know for sure is to check the crankshaft splines for wear...

trendsetter240

Lieutenant

x3 agree with what they said.

I'd add that if you are paying a mechanic to check the crank splines it will get costly. The powerhead needs to be removed for this. And, if he does find that the splines are worn you are in for a whole heap of expense to repair/replace the crankshaft.