1958 Evinrude 7.5, Flywheel seized

dltigers3

Cadet
Noob here, I just got a 7.5 for free when i picked up a 14 ft jon boat off craigslist. I tried to pull the starter and it wont move. So far I have removed spark plugs, dropped lower end, and soaked cylinders with wd40 for 12 hours. Still nothing. Is there anything else simple to try that I am forgetting, or is my next step to take apart the engine?

Also, Should I keep trying to soak the cylinders for a few more days in hope that they will free up, and should i use something other than wd40? And is there anyway to ensure there is not an issue with the motor being in gear? I have tried to pull it in every throttle position.

kbait

Commander
Re: 1958 Evinrude 7.5, Flywheel seized

If the flywheel won't turn, it's either a stuck powerhead, or gears are locked up in the lower unit. If you removed the lower unit and it's still locked, it's in the powerhead. I've used pb blaster in the plug holes (aimed 'up') and let it sit, and try to wiggle the flywheel by hand everyday. It may loosen up over time, if it's just rings rusted to cylinder walls. If it was overheated/under-lubed to seizure, you're out of luck w/penetrating oil, and you'll need to rebuild/replace powerhead. If it cannot be loosened up, I'd probably call Tim's outboard 218-682-2331 and inquire about the cost of a used/good powerhead, as rebuilding would be both time-consuming and part costs would add up quickly.

Good luck!

oldman570

Lieutenant Commander

You can pull the intake port covers and look at the piston for any buildup from the motor being overheated and pistons seazed is a result of such. If there is any damage to the pistons or cylender walls the motor is scrap or will need another powerhead. If the motor is still seize after a week of soaking, bets are it is shot and will need fixed or you can part it out and sell the good parts off of it. JMO.
Oldman570

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral