1966 Evinrude Lightwin 3 HP Restore Questions

boatnutty26

Cadet
So I came upon a 1966 Evinrude Lightwin 3 HP motor. It was actually thrown in as a "freebie" when I bought a 17' Grumman Scanoe on Craigslist. I am new to working on motors and am desperately trying to get it running.

I have been UNABLE to get it started and decided step 1 would be to do a compression test. When I initially did the test, I got a reading of 40 psi and 20 psi. I removed the cylinder head and determined the head gasket was extremely worn and somewhat rotted. I purchased and installed a new head gasket and re-tested. I now have a reading of 50 psi on the top cylinder and 20 psi on the bottom cylinder. It looks like the pistons are in decent shape but the cylinder head does have some rust on it. My first question is how can I get the compression up to where it needs to be? Also how can I tell if the cylinders or pistons are bad? I was told I might need to decarb it, but if I can't get it started, how do I do that? I can send or attach pics if that helps.

Please help! I love the idea of being able to restore a great old motor and hopefully use it for years to come. Any advice is much appreciated.

Thanks,
TD

kfa4303

Banned
Re: 1966 Evinrude Lightwin 3 HP Restore Questions