1989 johnson gt 150 intermitant miss or skip between idle and 2200 rpms

69stingray

Recruit
Good evening all:

I am new to the outboard arena. I recently bought a boat with a 1989 johnson gt 150 crossflow motor. After replacing
all 6 coil packs (Sierra) and thoroughly cleaning the carbs and synchronizing butterflies, I got it running on my test tank. I have since:

replaced plugs, wires, all fuel lines, bulb and filters, gear oil, thermostats, and water pump, and powerpack (Sierra)

Between idle and 2200 rpm, I still have an intermittant miss or skip. 2200 to 5500 rpms, she runs like a champ.

Any guidance, direction or solutions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

John

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1989 johnson gt 150 intermitant miss or skip between idle and 2200 rpms

When you cleaned the carbs, did you remove all 6 jets from each carb and visually inspect them for restrictions? You made no mention of whether the miss was different when the engine was cold or when fully warmed up. You might want to check the voltage output from the stator. It needs to be at least 200 volts at normal cranking rpm's. As measured with a special "peak-reading" voltmeter. That engine has the magnets epoxied/glued into the inside of the flywheel. Make sure none of them are loose.

69stingray

Recruit

I did remove all six jets cleaned and installed new factory kits with new floats. This was the second cleaning didnt install
new kits the first time. It didnt have much effect on the condition. Hot or cold doesnt seem to change it much, but it may be slightly worse when hot. All magnets are in place and tight. I have not bought a peak voltage adapter yet. I attempted