1991 88 johnson with jet wont plane out

Eric Lopez

Cadet
So my father-in-law just got himself a new boat, its a 16 ft ski barge, with a 1991 v4 88hp johnson with a jet, it wont get on plane. When we first got it we had to replace the water pump (impeller, impeller housing) and do thehead gaskets, dome gaskets and exhaust plate gaskets, it runs better now than when we got it but for some reason it wont get on plane. our tach doesnt work but it sounds like it goes wide open, when u first mash it wide open it has good umpf, it launches good, but it just wont come out of the water, but once the nose of the boat goes up about a foot and a half thats it, the rpms dont go down they still wind out, we've messed with trimm, different depth of the foot in the water, and we just cant figure it out, any help would be appreciated

Eric Lopez

Cadet
Re: 1991 88 johnson with jet wont plane out

seriously can anyone give me any ideas to look for? im new to boats

wanty9999

Cadet

i am a newbie myself but have you done a compression check? i see you replaced head gaskets etc so you're compression should be in range, but definitely check that out. that boat should haul ***.

also, from this thread: http://forums.iboats.com/johnson-evinrude-outboards/my-boat-wont-plane-out-reach-rpms-467057.html
The propeller rests on a rubber hub that is designed to take the impact of a hit and destroy the lower unit. Take a scribe and mark the prop in relation to the rubber hub inside of the prop if the marks aren't still aligned then you have a spun hub meaning that the hub is turning without the prop. Make sure the gas tank is venting properly, as well as no restrictions in the fuel line. Could also be a Waterlogged hull. If its only getting 2800 rpms that means it is probably not a waterlogged hull though. Even though the carbs were just rebuilt it could also mean a clog in the high speed jet.

99% spun hub though

AlTn

Commander