1964 1/2 Johnson 40 hp

wackostu

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1965 Steury 15 ft runabout. She has a 1964 (mid year change) RDSL26S Johnson 40hp Motor. It has spark, and turns over and runs for about 5 seconds then quits. The plugs are new and gapped at .030. New gas and fuel line. Bulb gets firm. The automatic choke seems to be running properly. There is a rich/lean adjustment and a idle adjustment. Not sure where I should be set on those.

I have not checked the fuel pump or carbs. I would like some advise on what I could try that wouldnt put me into overoad, as this is my first time being a boat owner.

I am thinking I am going to have to pay to have the carb redone. I am first going to check out the secret file, but wanted to know if there was something easy I messed from the experts here.

Thanks in advance for your help.

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1964 1/2 Johnson 40 hp

Like any other motor, it needs compression, fuel in the right amount, and spark under compression. Like any other motor, you must do some orderly inpection to isolate the problem. Check the compression. Then inspect the ignition system-- ("spark") means little or nothing. Old cracked coils will make a spark, but they won't run. Finally, take the drain plug out of the bottom/front of the carburetor and look at the end of it. Is it perfectly clean, or does it have a coating of varnish or goo on it? If the latter, the

wackostu

Seaman Apprentice

Like any other motor, it needs compression, fuel in the right amount, and spark under compression. Like any other motor, you must do some orderly inpection to isolate the problem. Check the compression. Then inspect the ignition system-- ("spark") means little or nothing. Old cracked coils will make a spark, but they won't run. Finally, take the drain plug out of the bottom/front of the carburetor and look at the end of it. Is it perfectly clean, or does it have a coating of varnish or goo on it? If the latter, the