Evinrude 1988 88hp SPL - Thermostat Gasket Question

jfonk3

Recruit
Hello,

I have a Evinrude 1988 88hp SPL that I bought 3 years ago, I had the Thermostats and water pump changed, the engine runs great. I am no engine expert at all, lol...

Upon starting the boat it runs great for about 10 minutes and then then begins 'pissing' warm water and then hot water until the overheat alarm sounds.

I figured it was probably the t-stats so I changed them (and some other people recommended that as well). I've never done it before and it was a complete nightmare getting at the bolts. I used the sierra kit (18-3673) from iboats. The old t-stats were fairly corroded from being used in saltwater. I only use the boat about 20-30 hours a year, but I start it up each week for 15 or so minutes.

Upon starting the boat up again with the new t-stats and the 'ear muffs' it overheated again in the exact same way. There is a strong water stream so I assume the water pump is working properly.

Now on to the gasket question, I followed the chart in the manual exactly, used gasket sealant, etc. When I put on the second gasket (the one that attaches to the back of the engine), it slightly went on top of the 2 t-stats, less than an 1/8" around on the outside of the t-stat silver looking round cover. Would this prevent them from opening? I assume that the middle part of the t-stat (the kind of nipple that extends when you squeeze the springs.) The gaskets are no where near that part.

Let me know if that is how it's supposed to be. It was really just a slight overlap but I just want to be sure.

Thanks,
John

Bob_VT

Moderator & Unofficial iBoats Historian
Staff member
Re: Evinrude 1988 88hp SPL - Thermostat Gasket Question

Okay, being a 1988 it has some years on it. I will lend a wild guess (since I went through a similar routine on my V-4 and it solved the same problem).