evinrude 1967 carburetor flooding, please assist

savibravo

Recruit
I am a new boat owner and this is my first time working on an outboard (with the help of some knowledgable friends). My Evinrude 6hp 1967 motor will not start. It only runs when I shoot some carb cleaner in it, granted it is only for a few seconds at least I know it has life. So, I took apart the carburetor, cleaned and replaced all the parts. But when I attach the carb back on and begin pumping fuel into it, the gas comes flowing out of the overflow hole immediately. What gives?

I have taken the carb off and checked the needle and seat. All looks good and clean. Everything is brand new.

Could anybody give me some advice? I want to get my boat in the water!

Thanks!

Daviet

Fleet Admiral
Re: evinrude 1967 carburetor flooding, please assist

The needle/seat is what controls fuel flow into the carb. The float controls the needle/seat. Are you sure that there is no trash in the needle/seat holding it open? Float installed correctly and adjusted properly? All gaskets installed properly?

liz873

Seaman

I have a 69 6hp , never had that problem, just others. First use a little premix in a spray bottle. Repeated use of starter fluid can damage engine. Next which overflow hole do you mean? Possible float in stalled upside down easy to do. Are you sure its flooding maybe gas not making it in carb because usually when a engine only fires with starting fluid means lack of gas. Close choke, pump bulb until firm give a couple pulls immediately check plugs should have gas on them if not carb or pump is problem. Disconnect fuel line exiting from pump spray gas in carb when she fires should get nice stream from pump outlet.

savibravo

Recruit