First motor... 1953/54 Evinrude Super Fastwin 15hp... 15012

thewollerts

Cadet
Hello,
My family recently was given an aluminum Lone Star boat with an Evinrude motor and two gas tanks, an Evinrude and an Elgin.

I know! I was excited too. Everything is in rough shape... but aluminum is an amazing metal! I'm focusing on the motor first. I would like to get it running and hopefully use it this summer. I think my wife is not so optomistic. I'm not sure if I would like to do a complete restoration or just give it a major tune up and a minor facelift.

I am new to two cycle engines. I look forward to the challenge. I have been searching the internet and the library for anything on outboards and this motor in particular. Found a good book at the library about finding and repairing outboards, a great site about a guy from Toledo making old boats and outboards new again, and now iboats. Now I have a motor, some motivation, and help at my fingertips. I'm like a mad scientist on the verge of discovery. Now my wife is scared!!!

So here's the skinny. I decided to test the two cycle waters today on the motor. The chord won't pull. I removed the cowl and recoil and tried turning the flywheel clockwise in neutral. No dice. I removed the head and there is some corrosion on the cylinder walls and the tops of the pistons. I have heard that some penetrating oil and a wooden mallet might loosen it up. Is this a good idea? I want to make sure it'll move before I go buying parts. Any help would be appreciated by this outboard novice.

Thanks,
Grant

Beek14

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: First motor... 1953/54 Evinrude Super Fastwin 15hp... 15012