1971 Evinrude Lark 50hp Carburetor Rebuild - Any help is appreciated!!!!

Zabbu

Cadet
Ok so i went to start up my engine for the season and i've ran into a TON of issues. First I had a short in the electrical (the past owner had a wire going from the battery to NOTHING and shorting the battery out) Then I had discovered the rectifier had some broken wires, replaced that. Now that i have it running, it only runs when i choke it.... So after calling every shop in town they all agree i need to rebuild my carbs.

I've NEVER done anything like this before in my life... I work on computers for a living, but i'd rather pay $50 bucks for the 2 repair kits than 400 for someone to do it for me.

Here is where i'm at now, (Click the image once to go to the photobuck)

These Carbs are Nasty dirty.....

I'm going to begin disassembling them tonight and soaking them in carb cleaner. However i have 3 questions already.

1st - The two golden slow speed needle valves seem to be at different settings, one has 4 threads showing, the other 6? Is there a default setting for this?

and 2nd - i noticed in this thread that he mentions a special tool for removing an item from the carb, do i need to build/get this tool? or will i be fine without. http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=244013

and lastly, are there any 'warnings' or things i need to be careful of when i take this apart? Springs flying / tensions / etc.?

Thanks again, you guys have always been a big help. I'll post pictures along the way to hopefully help others with this same situation. :)

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1971 Evinrude Lark 50hp Carburetor Rebuild - Any help is appreciated!!!!

1. Screw them in till lightly seated, then back them out about 1 1/2 turns. That will get it started. They will have to be fine tuned for best running at idle, warmed up, on a boat on the lake.