1959 35 hp Johnson fuel tank question.

zepprocker

Cadet
Hey All,
This is my first post here. I recently bought a 1959 Dorsett Belmont Sport boat. Picked it up for 1700 with no fuel tank or battery. Everything else is clean, and the motor still has good compression. My question is, originally, these motors used pressurized fuel tanks. I'd like to get around that by using a conventional fuel tank and using an automotive fuel pump with a check valve to apply the correct amount of pressure. I assume I'd still have a return line to push out any fuel not used. I'm not quite sure what kind of pump I should look for, I think the automotive ones are in the 10 PSI range. Anyone know about this, or done anything like this? Also, suggestions on where to buy parts like this. I'm new to boating in general but have a decent mechanical know-how.

nwcove

Admiral
Re: 1959 35 hp Johnson fuel tank question.

why not just do the conversion with a mikuni pump?

kfa4303

Banned

Hi zepprocker. Sure, you can convert it to a single line set up pretty easily. Here are some great links that can walk you through the whole job. You'll have to check online for parts, but most folks like Mikuni brand fuel pumps which are available right here at iboats and other sites. Great motor you got there. Holler if you get stuck. We love pics.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtG4M7ye1N8&feature=related

http://www.sschapterpsa.com/ramblings/Converting_dual_fuel_line.htm

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner

Forget about the auto fuel pumps, unless you have good insurance :)