Newbie Here, Need some engine help... Please... 77' Johnson 35hp

castires

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Good afternoon,

I'm having trouble with my motor. I bought the boat used from a friend. He told me that he had rebuilt the entire motor, pistons, rings, rods, etc...

I took the boat out 5-6 times with no trouble at all. Last weekend I went out with my son and the motor overheated. We were stranded for about 4 hours, but that's not the problem now. ;)

So I took the gearcase off and the waterpump was burnt up, nothing left on the impeller but a round rubber disc. I replaced the waterpump, I also took off the front cover and back flushed the motor along with replaced the thermostat and buttoned it all back up.

The motor started on the first try, but ran rough, water was coming out of the hole, but the engine only ran for about a minute and shut off. I couldn't get it started again.

Yesterday I did a compression test and the results are below:

Top Cylinder - 105psi, added oil, went to 120psi
Bottom Cylinder - 120 psi, added oil, went to 130psi

Put the plugs back in and tried to start it. It fired right up and ran, still rough, but this time no water was coming out of the hole.

I'm really at a loss as to what to do. If anyone could offer me some advice I would be very appreciative.

This is my first boat/outboard, so I definitely don't know all the terms, but am willing to learn. :)

I do have a shop manual for the motor that he gave me, after reading it, it would appear the rings are bad, but could that be from the motor overheating or am I just missing something else...

Thanks,
Chris

kfa4303

Banned
Re: Newbie Here, Need some engine help... Please... 77' Johnson 35hp