2010 Evinrude E-Tec 60 hp will not stay running

arkautza

Recruit
I have a 2010 60 HP Evinrude E-Tec that will start and run briefly before sounding like it's "drowning" and then it just quits. The engine runs fine when I have on muffs on it in the driveway - however when the prop is submerged it seems like the engine does not have the power to push out the exhaust (?) and it just dies. I am a novice when it comes to outboards but here is a very short list of the things I checkedand the result of my snooping:

1. I thought maybe the spark plugs were bad so I pulled them out - they were pretty wet with gasoline
2. I attempted to flush the cooling system with a garden hose attached to the threaded hole below the cooling water outlet hole - nothing came out the other end? I did not have the motor running at that point though; should the motor be running for that method of flushing? However, I didn't notice that the cooling water stream was inconsistent when the motor was running.

I would really appreciate any ideas or pointers on what to check out next or how to properly flush out the cooling system, etc.

The motor is used on a scientific research vessel so it gets beat up pretty good being run in shallow, dirty, muddy, and rocky areas. It almost never gets run full throttle, usually just creeping along above idle for long periods of time. Would these have anything to do with the potential problems I am experiencing?

Again I really appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

boobie

Supreme Mariner
Re: 2010 Evinrude E-Tec 60 hp will not stay running

You might want to do a compression test on it to see if the mtr is sound. The prob is with these new mtrs is you need a laptop to check the mtr for service codes as there are many things that can go wrong. Not like the days of the carbed mtrs.

arkautza

Recruit

Thanks guys

I checked the thermostat - looked brand new but I cleaned it up anyway