1971 Evinrude 60 HP 60173C Impeller, Water Pump, Tell Tale stream question and kudos

JPentz

Recruit
Hello folks,
I'm new to outboard motor ownership and have been lurking for a couple of weeks on this forum reading all I can about the Evinrude 60173C. The information you folks have shared has helped me a lot - so Thank You!

I purchased a 1989 Sun Tracker 24' Party Barge and this motor came with it. I dropped it of a the marine shop and was told the compression and spark were good, but I did not have neutral or reverse. I looked that up on this site, changed the milky brown junk from the LU and replaced it with Type C (learned from here!). On the hose I had F, N, and R. I launched the boat and had reverse until I headed to the dock to pick up my family and gear, then no N or R! Circled around, killed the motor, loaded the family and off we went (with paddles, a trolling motor and spare deep cycle battery on board as plans B and C). For the rest of the day I had all 3 gears (FNR), even when I showed how rookie I was while trying to load the boat back on the trailer (FNR, oops, FNR, oops,...). The plugs did not have washers and I didn't have replacements so I wrapped them with teflon tape in an effort to keep the water out.

Here's the reason I'm writing the forum today:
The tell tale stream out the back of this motor looks pathetic, it burbles, some water streaming out (dribbling actually) all the time with spurts of higher volumes coming out regularly. I seem to remember reading that this is the case for this engine, even with a new water pump or impeller. Is this correct, or am I risking overheating the motor?