What amperage battery do I need for 55hp Johnson Seahorse?

BlueBeast

Seaman
I need to know what time of battery my 55 hp Johnson Seahorse needs to start.

fireman57

Captain
Re: What amperage battery do I need for 55hp Johnson Seahorse?

I know that someone is going to what the model number, year, how long you have had it, etc... Just go buy the cheapest 3 year 550 cranking amp automotive battery you can find. If you use it for starting only you will be fine. Run your trolling motor and other stuff off a deep cycle battery. I've been doing this for over 41 years and never had a problem.

kfa4303

Banned

I've even see folks use motorcycle and big lawnmower batteries to start their old Big Twin motors. kinda cool b/c they're so small, but I like 57 idea best too. A half-way decent car battery will work fine for starting purposes.

BlueBeast

Seaman

For the lights and depth/fish finder, what kind of deep cycle battery do I need?

wilde1j

Vice Admiral

Use the same battery for starting and those loads as well. Just a regular starting battery. Only need deep cycle for elec trolling motor.

fireman57

Captain

The only reason I run my electronics and other stuff off of a separate battery is just in case I get a spike back through. I have had my depth finder fried.

kfa4303

Banned

It you're worried you could go with the smaller, motorcycle-style starting battery and a larger deep cycle battery for trolling/accessories. That way the two systems are separate, so if one gets fired the other should be ok. The two together shouldn't weigh more, or take up much more space than a single starting battery. Good luck.

BlueBeast

Seaman

So do you all agree that a 550 CCA battery would be fine for starting it? Model number 55EL76E, serial number E4473745.

Attachments

• SDC14767 (1632 x 1224).jpg
    SDC14767 (1632 x 1224).jpg
    135.4 KB · Views: 0

mstahl1171

Petty Officer 1st Class

Should be fine....I use a group 24 550 CCA battery on my old 62 Evinrude 40hp

archcycle