1960 Evinrude Big Twin 40hp Restoration.

David Hendry

Cadet
Hi I have just inherited a 1960 Evinrude 40 hp Big Twin. From the information i have been given, It was put into the cellar roughly 20years ago. It was running at this time, and had oil injected into the cylinders. And flushed clear of salt water. I have recently brought it up to get it started and used once again. I have clean all the engine with wd40 and checked it has a spark which it does. I have changed all the rubber pipes and have had to repair a saddle for the throttle control. The engine is moving freely and will turn over but will not start. I am in the process of Stripping the carb down and coating the cork float in 'Seal all'. I will then be rebuilding the carb. And again try to turn her over and hopefully she will start. I am wondering if there is anything else i shoulde be checking or looking at before i try to start it. I am new to marine engine especially this old. I have worked on cars before. But there are obviously some differences here. Your knowledge and help will be gladly taken onboard and acted on.

ps. I am like in the uk and from searches i have already made have found that almost all the parts for these things need to come from the US. So any help there again would be great.

Thank you David

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral
Re: 1960 Evinrude Big Twin 40hp Restoration.

You will need to replace the waterpump too. After sitting that long, it's likely to be shot.

Welcome to iBoats.

kfa4303

Banned