'90 J3BRESR Johnson 3hp - Rough running/Impeller questions

I have a 3hp Johnson J3BRESR outboard that came along with the Jon boat I purchased. It was not in a running condition at the time, and I have some questions regarding it. Please forgive me if I am asking extremely common questions, I looked at the threads in the top post, but can't quite find the information I think I am looking for.:redface:

I disassembled the lower unit to replace the impeller, didn't know if it was bad or not, but wanted it replaced. (found to be demolished completely). I purchased the entire water pump kit and have a question regarding the engine's water output.

*Do the impeller fins need to be orientated in a certain direction when installing them? I attempted to judge which way the impeller would be driven, and which way I thought it should move water. It is my first time replacing one and I could easily be wrong.

*As the engine is running, in a tub of water, I get a seep of water where the engine mounts to the rest of the body. Where the "exhaust manifold gasket" resides. The gasket is new, and the bolts are tight.

*I am unsure where the output of water is supposed to be, so I know if I have a gasket problem, or if the port is junked up and needs to be cleaned out?

The engine seems to run pretty decently with some fresh fuel and new spark plugs. It does sound like it is loading up when left at a low speed idle and will eventually stall itself out. Higher rpm seems to hold up better. Also the way my "test stand" is, the engine is at a very slight angle, not completely perpendicular to the water, as if it was slightly "trimmed up". If I rotate the engine a certain degree, the engine loads up and stalls.

*My loading up at low speed idle, and loading/stalling at varying engine angles being caused by an improperly adjusted float? There is plenty of fuel, and the tank vent is open (tank is on the top/built into the engine).