Painting/restoring 1987 Evinrude Hood and side shields

j_k_bisson

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Juat a couple questions reguarding my 1987 225hp Evinrude hood and side shields. I want to repaint them. They are in pretty rough shape. The are spider cracked in some places and have chips in them in other palces.

1)What are they made out of? Plastic, fiber glass, or unknown compostite material (backlite, etc)?

If plastic I know what to do. I'm a plastic engineer. If fiberglass what type of resin used to make them? I would like to use the correct resin to fix.

2)What type of primer to use on them? Is zinc chromate ok. I have a ton of it left over from the lower unit pieces. Or is two part epoxy primer better?

I'm planning on using the factory Evinrude paint if that helps the primer question. I have painted cars and trucks before, so I know the prep steps for paint in general. Its just the materials that I have a problem with. Not fimiliar with what this is made out of.

Thanks

nymack66

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Painting/restoring 1987 Evinrude Hood and side shields

Jeff its all Fiberglass, For the spider cracks you will have to grind it down with and angle grinder, fill with any polyester base jelly and sand, you are a master at this... prime and paint. On the inside of the top cowling I strip all the old foam or insulation it wrecks havoc on clogging your Carbs, I post a few photos of mine during my restoration,
The paint used here is a single part polyurethane found at West Marine it has excellent leveling proprieties and a beautiful sheen as shown here, do not use a Zinc primer it will not adhere or etch on properly.

cowl1.jpg

cowl2.jpg

cowl8.jpg

http://i527.photobucket.com/albums/cc357/amackhrandilal/Cowling%20Project
/cowl7.jpg

decal1.jpg

j_k_bisson

Lieutenant Junior Grade