HELP!! - 1961 Johnson FD-15 18 HP - no fire on lower cylinder

learningasIgo

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi to all. I am newly registered to iboats - even though I have been reading many of your posts over the last month or so and have found much of your knowledge very helpful. I am new to working on outboards and really new to boating as well. I am an industrial maintenance technician and a mechanic/farmer's son. So I'm not concerned about my ability, just need some guidance and knowledge if you would be willing to lend a hand. That all said, here's the problem:

Bought a 1961 Johnson FD-15 18 hp the other day for $175. Seemed like a great deal considering all the similar motors I was checking out were asking $450-$900. The motor has great compression on both cylinders and has been garage kept - though it is obvious it has seen the water several times over it's life. Has new oil in lower unit. Tried to see if it would fire and the way it "jerked" made it obvious to me that it was only trying to fire on one cylinder. Pulled the plugs and checked the fire and found that - sure enough - the lower had no fire. Of course I swapped the plugs to ensure that it wasn't cause by a bad plug - it wasn't.

I am assuming that there is a coil under the flywheel that I will need to get to and replace either that or the wire. Any case, is there anything I need to know about pulling the flywheel that may cause me problems on timing when I re-assemble it? Does anyone have a good link to a manual or good diagram of this motor. I found a parts diagram on marineengine.com, but it's not quite what I was looking for. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

-Travis

learningasIgo

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1961 Johnson FD-15 18 HP - no fire on lower cylinder

Just a bump to hopefully get a look from someone who knows these motors.

MudLake

Seaman

I have two indentical motors.
both are 1961 18/20 HP on my 15 foot starcraft.

There is no timing issues to run into with these motors.