18HP Evinrude Fastwin - Prop slipping

ieuand

Cadet
Hi all,

This is my first ever post and I need some help and advice!

I've not long owned a 18Hp Fastwin and everything was going well with it, when one day in the sea, I was travelling along at a very low speed and attempted to open the throttle, the engine had high revs, but the prop was not moving. Whne I slowed it down, the prop then bagan to turn!

Anyway, I made back at a low spped and eventually go it home to have a play with it....with the engine not running and forward ot reverse engaged I am able to turn the popeller with my hands, but it is prop that turns, so the proppeller shaft and Propeller nut do not turn - when in neutral, everything turns when i try it. So it seems that there is something in the propeller set-up that is slipping.

I'm new to boats and outboards, but having looked at the engine diagrams I'm thinking that it could be any one of many different parts.....and then there is the question of where to get these parts (I'm in the UK)....

The Propeller shaft drive pin, seems to be fine and it sits nicely inside the clutch dof shifter (I hope this is making sense, as I'm not sure I know what I'm talking about!), which should stop the prop from moving, but move it does!

Any thoughts and ideas would be greatefully appreciated

Thanks
Ieuan

kbait

Commander
Re: 18HP Evinrude Fastwin - Prop slipping

You have a spun prop hub. Either have it re-hubbed, or find another prop to fit. Good luck!

Rick-va3rzs

Seaman Apprentice

Kbait is right spun prop .. go to your local shop and pick one up or put an andd in your local wanted section

Good luck

F_R

Supreme Mariner

Anatomy of a prop: There is a rubber cushion that is bonded to the brass center hub. Then that whole assembly is pressed into the bladed part of the prop. The cushion absorbs impacts from hitting obstructions....or even just the bang from shifting gears.