62' Johnson 28 hp RXL-10

Zac2424

Cadet
I have been fixing up this motor for a few years now and have some questions.

The motor runs very strong and starts up on the first pull. I have a starter, but it doesn't work and i haven't had time to get it refurbished. It also had electric choke, but I have never been able to get it to work. I have not replaced points, condensors, impellor, coils, etc. because it pumps good water, has good spark and seems to run well. I have cleaned the carb twice and seems to be pretty clean and working properly.

My question is why the motor will not get to full speed. When we take off it gets to about 1/2 speed and will not go any further. If we go for a while i can mess with the throttle back and forth and sometimes...very rarely it will take off at full speed and run great! At 1/2 speed it doesn't run bad, just not near as fast as it should.

What would cause this? I don't think its my cables because when i disconnect them and use the motor trottle switch it will not turn all the way over.

Is this motor electric shift? I never have it connected to a battery, but when i do and turn the switch to the on position it does change the motor sound and how it runs but still usually no full throttle. I am wondering if i need to get a manual and link and sync this thing or what...really don't know what to do from here.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

THanks

Zac

bktheking

Vice Admiral
Re: 62' Johnson 28 hp RXL-10