63 Evinrude Crankshaft issues?

MCNPathfinder

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey everyone. Kinda new here. I have a 1963 Evinrude 35HP. On my last trip out I seemed to have destroyed a lot of things with this engine. I fixed the gear case issues, but within the last few hours realized that I think the crankshaft is screwed up. The flywheel somehow got loose, broke that key on the crankshaft and messed up about a quarter inch of thread on both the crankshaft and the crankshaft nut. To me it looks like the crankshaft is going to have to be replaced, unless I can re-thread it and get a new nut for it. I have a spare engine, it's from the early 70s, and it's a Johnson, but it looks practically the same. In fact I swapped a lot of the armature plate pieces from one to the other. Do you suppose that I will be able to swap the crankshafts between the two engines without having any issues? I'm a complete noob at all things boating, so you may be thinking "this guy is a moron", and that would not be an unfair assumption. I know nothing about machining, tolerances, etc, either. Basically what I'm saying here is don't assume that I know much about anything boat wise anyways. LOL! Electrical is more my thing. Thanks for the help in advance!
~Matt

wilde1j

Vice Admiral
Re: 63 Evinrude Crankshaft issues?

... The flywheel somehow got loose, broke that key on the crankshaft and messed up about a quarter inch of thread on both the crankshaft and the crankshaft nut. ...
~Matt

Matt, the flywheel 'got loose' most likely BC it hadn't been properly torqued. Sounds like the crank and the flywheel were destroyed, and need to be replaced. This has the potential to be a very hazardous event. I would suggest getting an OEM shop manual if you plan to repair. You can try here for the parts:
Salvage yards:
sea-way.com
outboard-parts.com
laingsoutboards.com
tcoutboard.com
fairwindsmarina.com
salvagemarine.com
marinepartsoutlet.com
Superior Marine (800-338-9281)